Smaller Text | Larger Text

Walk Reviews

Walk Name:
Calamoro
Review Submitted by:
Dave
Review Date:
Sunday, May 10, 2015
Test

Walk Name:
La Cruz de Juanar
Review Submitted by:
Bryn/Pete/Andrew
Review Date:
Monday, March 11, 2013
From Torreblanca Station take the costal A7 (old N340) or Toll Road AP7 in Marbella direction as far as 'La Canada' Shopping Centre Junction - signed Coin/Ojen,A355. Stay on A355 past Ojen, and 500 meters beyond the sign for the turn-off for the 'Refugio de Juanar' is Venta Pula, our meeting place. Allow around 50 minutes for this journey of approx. 50km. We intend leaving Venta Pula at 10:45am (for anyone going directly to the Venta)and will then drive back to the 'Refugio de Juanar' turn-off for the 5km. journey to the parking area at the end of the track, by the metal gates, 500 meters beyond the Hotel turn-off. Please Note: This is an ascent to the summit of 'Juanar'. It is not a long walk in time or distance BUT there is a long, steep climb (of over an hour) to the summit and our return journey starts with a short, but steep descent on which extra care is necessary. The 360 degree views from the top are really spectacular, given decent weather. We have Marbella at our feet, and the peaks of Salto del Lobo (the wolf's leap), El Lastonar and La Concha, all to the east of us. Frequent short stops will be taken on the ascent. Our descent takes us through a pine forest, then on to a wide dirt track which joins the track back to our cars. If the weather is at all doubtful, please call one of the contact numbers for confirmation of the walk. Thank you.

Walk Name:
La Cala
Review Submitted by:
Liz Dunbar
Review Date:
Friday, February 10, 2012
A short easy walk from La Cala up into the surrounding hills with wonderful veiws of the coast. Leave the 340 at La Cala & turn right at the roundabout towards Noria Golf Resort where we will meet for coffee. Ample parking places in front of BBVA. We will follow a footpath through the woods,to Finca Alegria where we can visit the stables & horses.The road then takes us up a gradual hill to the mirador.

Walk Name:
Carratraca Valley, Sierra de Aguas y Jarales,
Review Submitted by:
teresa elvin
Review Date:
Tuesday, February 08, 2011
SIERRA DE AGUAS Y JARALES Directions to coffee stop: From the station take the N340 towards Malaga. Take the airport road. Take the slip road off signed Chirrihana/Parador Golf This the turn before the airport] Follow signs towards Chirrihana/Cartama. After the dual carriage way section follow signs towards Cartama A7052. Continue on this road until you reach the A357. Turn towards Campillos. Continue on this road until Km. 26. Just after this turn right towards Caratraca. At the botom of the village there are 2 bars. We will have coffee here. We will meet outside at approx. 11am to drive to the start of the walk. Directions to start of walk. Retrace your way back to the A357 turn back towards Malaga. At Km. 28 turn right we will drive in convoy to the parking spot.

Walk Name:
Las Aguas, Carratraca
Review Submitted by:
Teresa Elvin
Review Date:
Tuesday, November 24, 2009
B+ WALK 4 1/2 HRS. WITH LUNCH WALK LEADERS. TERESA ELVIN AND ANNE BRODHAULT DIRECTIONS TO COFFEE STOP: From Torreblanca station take the road to Mijas Peublo. On the outskirts of the village take a right turn toward Alhaurin el Grande. Follow this road to BP station, turn right through road works. At next cross roads turn left. At next junction turn left. Go across rounabout towards Coin. Just before flyover turn right, signed Cartama. At roundabout turn right. At next roundabout take the 3rd exit to Villa Franca. Go through village and continue till you reach a junction. Take the 357 to Campillos. At Km.26 turn towards Caratraca. At the base of the village there are two ventas. We will meet here for coffee at approx. 10.30. [If you wish to avoid the road works there are alternative routes. Take 340 towards La Canada take Ojen road.OR Take 340 towards Malaga and take University road, this the 357] DIRECTIONS TO WALK START: We will continue on the same road[07078] Just after Km. 12 we turn right on to a track signed Sierra Las Aguas. Continue until you reach the wind turbines. We will park here. WALK DESCRIPTION The first part of this walk is on good tracks. We will circumnavigate the hill on which the wind turbines are based. We then start to descend still on tracks. We eventually reach a river where we will pick up a zig zag path and climb steeply back to the walk start. We will take this stretch of the walk gently with several stops. We will have first rate views all day. Firstly towards El Chorro and the Lakes and later towards Cartama and the Sierria de Mijas. Teresa Elvin telephone 952491424 MOB. 660564044 Anne Brodhault telephone 952199077 MOB. 658970464

Walk Name:
Las Aguas, Carratraca
Review Submitted by:
Teresa Elvin
Review Date:
Tuesday, November 24, 2009
Directions from Torre Blanca station:

Walk Name:
Nerja/Maro
Review Submitted by:
Anne & Brian
Review Date:
Tuesday, November 04, 2008
Walk Grade: B+ Distance: 12km approx. Duration: 5 hours approx. plus lunch The walk starts from Cuevas de Nerja where we will meet for refreshments in the cafeteria alongside. To reach there take the A7 towards Almeria, turning off at km295, signposted Cuevas de Nerja. The walk entails some walking along dry, stony river beds and, before the lunch stop parts of the walk include some stiff climbs. The scenery is quite stunning throughout the walk. After lunch we continue slightly uphill for short distance before going down, through some undergrowth and along another dry river bed. We will finish in Maro for optional refreshment before walking back along tarman road under the A7 to collect our transport.

Walk Name:
Puerto Collado, Competa
Review Submitted by:
Gudrun and Charles
Review Date:
Friday, April 27, 2007
Puerto Collado, Competa. This walk will take place and will include a Tapas lunce stop.

Walk Name:
Macharaviaya
Review Submitted by:
Bryn & Pat
Review Date:
Friday, March 30, 2007
This is a circular walk of 10 kms. There are two 15-minute steep single-file sections and a 30-minute uphill section on a wider track. The walk will take us through the picturesque villages of Macharaviaya and Benaque and affords some stunning views of Iznate village plus the fertile plain of Velez-Malaga. Approximately 3 1/2 hours walking time.

Walk Name:
Osunillas
Review Submitted by:
Heidi/Brian
Review Date:
Thursday, November 30, 2006
A slow gradual ascent with brilliant views of Mijas and Fuengirola. We then traverse towards Benalmadena - an abunddance of rosemary, juniper etc. The descent follows a beautiful gorge. The track has loose stones but the pace will be slow, sticks recommended and firmly laced boots. Directions - from Fuengirola take road to Mijas Pueblo. At the BP garage (just before the Pueblo) turn right, signposted Osunillas/Benalmadena. After about a kilometre turn right opposite the Municipal Football/Swimming Pool and park in front of the town houses. We meet for coffee at 10 at the Bar Club Deportivo Mijas, optional lunch afterwards.

 

Next Last

Home | Walks | Leaders | Review | Contact | Gallery | Legal | Login | Admin